Categories
Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum Museum Schattenmuseum Spiel Theater

38-40 rooms: In the KW Institute for Contemporary Art

As part of the anniversary weekend of the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, the Schattenmuseum Youth Committee occupy three rooms of the project 37 Rooms REVISITED with Room 38-40, Back to ME and a new edition of our Game of Life.

For Kunst-Werke Berlin, the year 1992 was distinguished by the realization of the 37 Rooms exhibition. Taking place parallel to the opening of documenta IX in Kassel, it drew in at short notice a large number of Berlin-based artists, curators and critics who staged 37 Rooms along Auguststrasse. 

Today, 37 Rooms can be regarded as a prototype for the Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art. On September 18 and 19, 2021 the concept of 37 rooms was reanimated in the neighbourhood,  as visitors were led through the courtyards of the Scheunenviertel to Auguststrasse 69. Both days featured a program of performance and music, including interventions by Schattenmuseum Youth Committee collective, playfully confronting the (archive) structures and inception processes of a contemporary art institution. 

Room 38-40


Room 38: KW Archives x Schattenmuseum Youth Committee: Room 38-40 

Taking its spur from the KW archive and early projects, the Schattenmuseum Youth Committee infiltrates the KW by means of an interactive intervention, central to which is the photographic slide. Visitors are invited to develop and curate exhibition concepts for their own spaces, accompanied by the Schattenmuseum Youth Committee. Guided tours, experiments and performative workshops form the framework for an archive and slide workshop for all visitors. 

Room 39: Schattenmuseum Youth Committee: Back to ME 

Back to ME is an installation curated by the Schattenmuseum Youth Committee on the occasion of KW’s 30th anniversary. The young people open up an interactive space that invites visitors to engage with themselves. Here, the prejudices of others can be separated from the perception of self. The space offers an intimate atmosphere for self-reflection  which, in turn, functions as a space for silent communication. 

Room 40: Schattenmuseum Youth Committee:  Game of Life

In the Game of Life, visitors use various event cards to go through a fictitious curriculum vitae dedicated to questions of identity, community, love, gender and migration. For the 30th anniversary, the Schattenmuseum Youth Committee presents an updated version of this game, originally created in 2018 as part of the exhibition A for Jewish as a cooperation between the Jewish Museum Berlin and the Schattenmuseum Youth Committee.


Further information about the programme is available here: https://www.kw-berlin.de/30-jahre-kw-jubilaeumswochenhttps://www.kw-berlin.de/en/30-years-of-kw-anniversary-weekend/ende/

Many thanks to our sponsor:

Kategorien
Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum Museum Schattenmuseum Spiel Theater

38-40 Räume: im KW-Institute for Contemporary Art

Im Rahmen des Jubiläumswochenendes des KW – Institute for Contemporary Art bespielt das Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum drei Räume des Projektes 37 Räume REVISITED mit Raum 38-40, Back to ME und einer Neuauflage unseres Spiel des Lebens.

Das Jahr 1992 war für die Kunst-Werke Berlin von der Realisierung der Ausstellung 37 Räume geprägt, die parallel zur Eröffnung der documenta IX in Kassel stattfand und kurzfristig eine Vielzahl von in Berlin ansässigen Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Kritiker*innen 37 Räume entlang der Auguststraße bespielen ließ.

Heute kann 37 Räume als Prototyp für die Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst gelesen werden. Im Rahmen von 30 Jahre KW wurde das Konzept von 37 Räume am 18. und 19. September 2021 erneut in der Nachbarschaft aufgegriffen und führte Besucher*innen entlang des Scheunenviertels bis in die Auguststraße 69. An beiden Tagen wurde ein Performance- und Musikprogramm sowie Interventionen des Kollektivs Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum gezeigt, die sich spielerisch mit den (Archiv-)Strukturen und Gründungsprozessen einer zeitgenössischen Kunstinstitution auseinandersetzen.

Raum 38-40


Raum 38: KW Archive x Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum: Raum 38-40 
Ausgehend vom Archiv und den ersten Projekten der KW vom Anfang der 1990er Jahre schreibt sich das Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum 2021 mit einer interaktiven Intervention in die KW ein. Im Zentrum steht das Dia. Besucher*innen sind eingeladen, Ausstellungskonzepte für eigene Räume zu entwickeln und zu kuratieren, begleitet vom Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum. Führungen, Experimente und performative Workshops bilden den Rahmen für eine Archiv- und Diawerkstatt für alle Besucher*innen.

Raum 39: Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum: Back to ME  Back to ME ist eine Installation, die das Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum anlässlich des 30-jährigen Jubiläums der KW kuratiert hat. Die Jugendlichen eröffnen einen interaktiven Raum, der Besucher*innen einlädt, sich mit sich selbst auseinanderzusetzen. Vorurteile anderer können hier von der Selbstwahrnehmung getrennt werden. Der Raum bietet eine intime Atmosphäre für Selbstreflexion und kann zugleich ein Ort der stillen Kommunikation sein.

Raum 40: Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum: Spiel des Lebens
Im Spiel des Lebens durchlaufen Besucher*innen anhand verschiedener Ereigniskarten einen fiktiven Lebenslauf, der sich Fragen rund um Identität, Community, Liebe, Gender und Migration widmet. Für das 30-jährige Jubiläum präsentiert das Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum eine aktualisierte Version dieses Spiels, das ursprünglich 2018 im Rahmen der Ausstellung A wie Jüdisch als Kooperation zwischen sideviews e.V., dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin und dem Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum entstanden ist.


Weitere Informationen zum Programm erhalten Sie hier: https://www.kw-berlin.de/30-jahre-kw-jubilaeumswochenende/

Vielen Dank an unseren Förderer: