Team

The sideviews artists hail from various creative backgrounds, including theatre, music, literature, dance, design, art and architecture.

Anja Scheffer actress and director, is the creative director of sideviews. After studying acting at the Rostock University of Music and Theatre, she played numerous roles in film and television, radio plays and theatre. She works at the interfaces of theatre/ video/ visual arts/ art & education, most recently mainly in a museum context. She is constantly evolving her own method of project development with theatrical resources. Her work facilitates social interaction within diverse communities, establishing new perspectives and creating convergences between social, educational, artistic and historical issues, encouraging reflection on them in the context of current local and global questions. Projects have included LivingTOgether (German Consulate General Toronto, 2015), Anspiel (2014-17 by Seraphina Lenz for the International Garden Exhibition Berlin), the theatre profile of the Refik Veseli School in Berlin-Kreuzberg (2011-18) as part of the Cultural Agents for Creative Schools programme, and the creative research project Tropicology (2020-21) in Brazil. As part of the Schattenmuseum, she has been initiating interactive projects since 2018 – for the Jewish Museum Berlin, the Dresden Children’s Biennale (SKD), the Berlinische Galerie, KW Institute for Contemporary Art (Berlin), the Berlin Biennale and the House of World Cultures (Berlin).

Silke Ballath has a German-French joint honours degree in cultural studies / aesthetic practice (subjects: fine arts, literature, business administration, cultural policy) and Médiation Culturelle de l’Art. She has been part of the artist collective sideviews since 2018 and founded the youth committee Schattenmuseum with Anja Scheffer. Silke is interested in the development of an artistic-educational practice in the context of different settings, such as documenta 12, cultural agents for creative schools, kontextschule (context school), Kunstverein Wolfsburg. She deals with the scientific discourse and the practical field of critical art mediation as well as the relationship between different forms of knowledge. Between 2011 and 2021 she worked as a cultural agent in Berlin, was co-moderator of the Kontextschule from 2014-2016 and has held various teaching positions at art schools and universities. She is currently a research associate at the HBK Braunschweig at the Institute for Performative Practice, Art and Education and is writing her PHD with Christine Heil and Nora Sternfeld. Her focus is on the collaboration between teachers and artists in the school context. 

Cindy Riqui – After training as an educator in Thuringia, Cindy Riqui established her new life in Berlin, switched to the TV and entertainment industry in 2001 and worked as film manager for a TV production in the comedy sector. Following the birth of her son in 2011, she was employed as a payroll and financial accountant at the GRIPS Theater, the children’s and youth theatre, which celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2019. She has supported sideviews on the board since 2016.

Seraphina Lenz Seraphina Lenz studied sculpture at the Münster Art Academy. The core of her artistic work focuses on the creation of urban spaces. In Berlin, she explores various living environments from the districts of Hellersdorf to Neukölln and researches the influence of history, architecture and consumption on perception and behavior. In long-term projects, she develops specific forms of cooperation. She recently showed her sculptural works in the white elephant gallery, in Schloss Biesdorf in Berlin and at the Biennale LandSchafftKunst in Brandenburg.

.

The Schattenmuseum (shadow museum) youth committee was founded in 2018 after several years of collaboration on school projects with the Jewish Museum Berlin. The youth committee consists of 14 young people who meet weekly and for holiday workshops in their free time. Together with sideviews, they aim to share their experiences with other museums, such as the Berlinische Galerie. By means of artistic formats, museums should be advised on their suitability for young people.

The individual projects are continuously documented by the young people at www.schattenmuseum.de.

Astrid Kleinert studied acting at the Berlin University of the Arts. After graduating, she worked in various theatres as well as in television and radio plays. From 2012 to 2015 she did an apprenticeship as an educator. She lives and works in Dresden. Her first collaboration with sideviews was with the “Ongoing Process- Matter of Perspective” project for the Children’s Biennale in Dresden (Archiv der Avantgarden).

Rainer Untch, ethnologist, filmmaker and media artist, works creatively with children and young people and is a freelance lecturer for film and animation at various youth cultural institutions in Berlin. He is co-founder of the “Initiative Aesthetic Field Research”, an association of artists with the aim of developing and implementing various formats for youth projects in which the self/other is explored and depicted by the combination of an ethnological viewpoint and the creative process.

Arna Vogel: since her theatre studies degree in Rostock, has immersed herself in the art of storytelling in its broadest and narrower sense, initially as a dramaturge at theatres and in the independent theatre scene, and then later as a cultural journalist for radio and the press, including radio drama for the RBB station. She has been involved in theatre projects with children and young people since 2011. In 2013/14, she studied “storytelling in art and education” at the UdK Berlin. Since then she has been a freelance storyteller, mainly at various primary schools in Berlin. She is responsible for press and public relations, research and dramaturgy for sideviews.

DJ B.Side  is a music producer, composer and songwriter with his own recording studio producing, for example, Mellowbag, Cappadonna (Wu-Tang-Clan), the Brothers Keepers or Backyardloops as well as composing soundtrack music for films such as Till Hastreiter’s “Status Yo!” or Lars Becker’s “Kanak Attack”. As a band DJ, he has toured with Guru’s Jazzmatazz and the New York Bush Babees and also as support act for highly regarded artists such as DJ Premier, Jazzy Jeff, Busta Rhymes, Jungle Brothers, The Beatnuts and Grandmaster Flash. He has played at almost all of Germany’s major festivals. He is also active as a photo and video artist and gives workshops for young people in songwriting, rap, music production, photography, image editing, video production and DJing.

Daria Kornysheva grew up in Moscow. After completing her studies at the Theatre Academy at the Moscow Art Theatre, she moved to Düsseldorf and attended the Düsseldorf Art Academy, from where she graduated as a master student. Since 1997 she has been working as a freelance stage and costume designer for theatres throughout Germany, including the Volksbühne Berlin, the Neuköllner Oper, the Staatstheater Stuttgart as well as theatres in Aachen, Halle, Magdeburg, Freiburg, Innsbruck and Vienna. As an art director, she was the designer on film productions such as “Status Yo”, “The Forbidden Girl” and “Image of Her”.

Giles Schumm: gained his BA in 1985 at Northumbria University in Creative Arts, a mixed-disciplinary course investigating ways of employing theatre, music and visual art approaches to support creative social interaction within diverse community groups, after which he worked in art therapy with young people with disabilities in Newcastle & then London. Since 2010 he has worked on music & art projects with children and young people in Berlin, helping to devise long-term projects with sideviews, such as “Auf der Mauer auf der Lauer” (2010), “WELTweit…Neu” (2014) and “GOAL 17 – Kinder machen Welt” (2022), as well as projects with youth art and cultural centre Schlesische27. A musician, Giles has a long history of involvement in various music and art projects, including the “Feedback Orchestra” Berlin.

Rene Wetzel handles the digitization and online themes at sideviews, creating websites and interactive formats such as Schattenmuseum.de. He has conducted workshops on editorial work for the Schattenmuseum youth committee and advises the committee on matters of online communication. As Senior Manager Strategic Business Development, he works at ubitricity on the energy transition and the decarbonization of mobility. As the founder of the agency MBD.berlin for the music and media industry, he has accrued many years of experience in marketing and digitization. He is also a recording and live musician and enjoys working on vintage cars.

Other colleagues:

  • Ruth Noack/ curator
  • Marcelo Rezende/ curator
  • Sebastian Grobler/ film director and professor
  • Daniel Harder/ director and producer
  • Tomma und Dr. Heino Luxa/ pharmacists
  • Dr. Çiçek Baçik/ Artist, educator and researcher
  • Wiebke Janzen/ Pedagogue
  • Moritz Scheffer/ graphics, Schattenmuseum youth committee
  • Sven Seeger/ choreographer and dancer
  • to be continued……..

Team

Die Künstler*innen von sideviews kommen aus unterschiedlichen Feldern wie Theater, Musik, Literatur, Tanz, Design, Kunst oder Architektur.

Anja Scheffer ist Schauspielerin, Regisseurin und künstlerische Leitung von sideviews. Nach ihrem Schauspielstudium an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Rostock spielte sie zahlreiche Rollen in Film- und Fernsehen, Hörspielen und an verschiedenen Theatern (u.a. Berliner Ensemble, Schillertheater, Gorki Theater, Oldenburgisches Staatstheater). Sie arbeitet an den Schnittstellen Theater/ Video/ Bildende Kunst/ Art & Education, zuletzt meist im Kontext Museum. Entstanden sind u.a. LivingTOgether (Deutsches Generalkonsulat Toronto, 2015), Anspiel (2014-17 mit Seraphina Lenz für die IGA Berlin) oder das Theaterprofil der Refik-Veseli-Schule in Berlin-Kreuzberg (2011-18) im Rahmen des Programms Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen. Sie arbeitet kontinuierlich an einer eigenen Methode der Projektentwicklung mit Theatermitteln. Dabei sind zunehmend Arbeiten entstanden, die die soziale Interaktion innerhalb unterschiedlicher Gemeinschaften unterstützen, neue Perspektiven eröffnen und Annäherungen schaffen zwischen sozialen, edukativen, künstlerischen und historischen Fragen, um sie im Hinblick auf aktuelle lokale und globale Themen zu reflektieren. Im Rahmen vom Schattenmuseum initiiert sie seit 2018 interaktive Projekte – für das Jüdische Museum Berlin, die Kinderbiennale/ Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, die Berlinische Galerie und das Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Silke Ballath hat ein deutsch-französisches Doppeldiplom in Kulturwissenschaften / ästhetische Praxis (Fächer: Bildende Kunst, Literatur, BWL, Kulturpolitik) und Médiation Culturelle de l’Art. Seit 2018 ist sie Teil des Künstler*innenkollektivs sideviews und hat mit Anja Scheffer das Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum gegründet. Im Kontext unterschiedlicher Settings wie documenta 12, Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen, kontextschule, Kunstverein Wolfsburg interessiert sie die Entwicklung einer künstlerisch-edukativen Praxis. Sie beschäftigt der wissenschaftliche Diskurs sowie das Praxisfeld einer kritischen Kunstvermittlung sowie das Verhältnis zwischen unterschiedlichen Wissensformen. Seit 2011 arbeitet sie als Kulturagentin in Berlin, war von 2014 bis 2016 Co-Moderatorin der kontextschule und hat verschiedene Lehraufträge an Kunsthochschulen und Universitäten gegeben. Sie schreibt ihre Dissertation bei Prof. Dr. Christine Heil an der UDE sowie bei Dr. Nora Sternfeld. Ihr Fokus liegt auf der Zusammenarbeit von Lehrer*innen und Künstler*innen im Kontext Schule.

Cindy Riqui – ausgebildete Erzieherin aus Thüringen fand ihr neues Leben in Berlin, wechselte 2001 in die TV- und Unterhaltungsbranche und war als Filmgeschäftsführerin für eine TV Produktion im Comedy Bereich tätig.  Nach der Geburt ihres Sohnes 2011 eröffnete sich 2013 eine Anstellung als Lohn- und Finanzbuchhalterin am GRIPS Theater, DEM Kinder- und Jugendtheater, das 2019 sein 50. Jubiläum feierte. Sie unterstützt sideviews seit 2016 im Vorstand. 

Seraphina Lenz studierte Bildhauerei an der Kunstakademie Münster. Die Herstellung von Stadträumen ist der Kern ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit. In Berlin erforscht sie unterschiedliche Lebenswelten von Hellersdorf bis Neukölln und recherchiert den Einfluss von Geschichte, Architektur und Konsum auf Wahrnehmung und Verhalten. In langfristig angelegten Projekten entwickelt sie spezifische Formen der Zusammenarbeit. Ihre plastischen Arbeiten zeigte sie zuletzt in der galerie weisser elefant und im Schloss Biesdorf in Berlin und auf der Biennale LandSchafftKunst in Brandenburg. 

Zahraa Abdul-Hamid ist 2000 geboren. Sie hat den schulischen Teil der Fachhochschulreife am OSZ Handel I absolviert. Während eines Schulprojektes im Bereich Theater hat sie Anja Scheffer bei Kabale und Liebe 2019 im Frühjahr 2019 kennengelernt und im August 2019 bei einer weiteren Produktion als künstlerische Assistenz unterstützt. Seit August 2019 ist sie Teil des Jugendgremiums Schattenmuseum. Im September 2019 war sie wieder als künstlerische Assistentin von Anja Scheffer in einer Produktion im Schloss Trebnitz bei einem Begegnungsprojekt in Zusammenarbeit mit der Schlesischen27 tätig. Zahraa Abdul-Hamid interessiert sich für administrative und organisatorische Prozesse in künstlerischen Projekten, als auch für Dramaturgie und Schauspiel.

Das Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum gründete sich 2018, nach einer mehrjährigen Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen von Schulprojekten mit dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin. Das Jugendgremium besteht aus 14 Jugendlichen, die sich in ihrer Freizeit wöchentlich und zu Ferienworkshops treffen. Ihre bisher gesammelten Erfahrungen möchten sie gemeinsam mit sideviews mit weiteren Museen wie z.B. die Berlinische Galerie teilen. Mittels künstlerischer Formate sollen Museen in Bezug auf ihre Jugendtauglichkeit beraten werden.
Die einzelnen Projekte werden von den Jugendlichen fortlaufend dokumentiert auf www.schattenmuseum.de.

Astrid Kleinert studierte Schauspiel an der Universität der Künste in Berlin. Nach ihrem Abschluss arbeitete sie an verschiedenen Theatern sowie im Fernseh- und Hörspielbereich. Von 2012 bis 2015 absolvierte sie eine Ausbildung zur Erzieherin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Dresden. „Ongoing Process- Matter of Perspective“ für die Kinderbiennale in Dresden (Archiv der Avantgarden) war ihre erste Zusammenarbeit mit sideviews.

Hendrik Scheel hat nach seinem Bühnen- und Kostümbild-Studium in Dresden, Wien und London für zahlreiche Theater wie Neues Theater Halle, Staatstheater Stuttgart oder Det Norske Teatret Oslo gerarbeitet. Seit 2010 gestaltet er zunehmend den öffentlichen Raum und versucht die Wirklichkeit als Bühne zu verstehen. Arbeiten in diesem Kontext entstanden u.a. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ballhaus Ost („Kommunalka“), dem Impulse Festival („Wenn die Häuser Trauer tragen“) und dem Künstler+innenkollektiv Recherchepraxis („Hotel Berlin“ + „Modellfall Weißwasser“). Die Entwicklung von Narrativen im Raum mit den jeweiligen Mitspielern bestimmte auch die unterschiedlichen Arbeiten mit sideviews. Gemeinsam mit Anja Scheffer leitete er von 2010-2018 den Vorstand des Vereines.

Rainer Untch, Ethnologe, Filmemacher und Medienkünstler, arbeitet künstlerisch im Kinder- und Jugendbereich und ist freier Dozent für Film und Animation bei verschiedenen Jugendkultureinrichtungen in Berlin. Er ist Mitbegründer der „Initiative Ästhetische Feldforschung“, einem Zusammenschluss von Kunstschaffenden, mit dem Ziel, verschiedene Formate für Jugendprojekte zu entwickeln und durchzuführen, in denen mit künstlerischen Mitteln und ethno-logischem Blick das Eigene/Fremde erforscht und abgebildet wird.

Arna Vogel arbeitet, ausgehend von ihrem Diplom-Studium der Theaterwissenschaft in Leipzig, mit storytelling im weiteren und engeren Sinne. Zunächst als Dramaturgin an Theaterhäusern und in der freien Theater Szene, später als Kulturjournalistin für Hörfunk und Presse sowie im Hörspiel des RBB. Seit 2011 Theaterprojekte mit Kindern und Jugendlichen. 2013/14 Aus-bildung in „storytelling in art and education“ an der UdK Berlin. Seitdem freiberufliche Erzähler-in, insbesondere an diversen Berliner Grundschulen. Für sideviews betreut sie die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Recherche und Dramaturgie.

DJ B.Side ist Musikproduzent, Komponist und Songwriter mit eigenem Tonstudio und hat u.A. für Mellowbag, Cappadonna (Wu-Tang-Clan), die Brothers Keepers oder Backyardloops produziert sowie für Filme wie Till Hastreiters „Status Yo!“ oder Lars Beckers „Kanak Attack“ Filmmusik komponiert. Als Band DJ tourte er mit Guru’s Jazzmatazz und den New Yorker Bush Babees, sowie als Support für Größen wie DJ Premier, Jazzy Jeff, Busta Rhymes, Jungle Brothers, The Beatnuts oder Grandmaster Flash und spielte auf fast allen wichtigen Festivals des Landes. Er ist auch als Foto- bzw. Videokünstler tätig. Außerdem gibt er Workshops für junge Menschen in Songwriting, Rap, Music Production, Fotografie, Bildbearbeitung, Videoproduktion sowie DJ Workshops. 

Daria Kornysheva wuchs in Moskau auf. Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums an der Theaterhochschule am Moskauer Kunsttheater zog sie nach Düsseldorf und besuchte die Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie, die sie als Meisterschülerin abschloss. Seit 1997 arbeitet sie als freie Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin für Theater im deutschsprachigen Raum, darunter die Volksbühne Berlin, die Neuköllner Oper, das Staatstheater Stuttgart und auch Theater in Aachen, Halle, Magdeburg, Freiburg, Innsbruck und Wien. Als artdirector stattete sie  Filmproduktionen wie „Status Yo“, „The Forbidden Girl“ und „Bild von Ihr“ aus.

Esther Röhrborn wurde in Berlin geboren und studierte an der UdK Berlin Malerei. Seit 1993 arbeitet sie als Freie Malerin und Performerin. 1997 begann sie mit dem Boxsport und wurde 1999 und 2000 Berliner Meisterin im Leichtgewicht. Es folgte die Theaterproduktion „Boxerinnen“, aus der die Gründung der Performancegruppe Dorothy Vallens entstand. Es wurden diverse Performances und Theater-stücke entwickelt und im HAU und im Podewil gezeigt sowie Ausstellungen, die auf Kampnagel in Hamburg und im Lenbachhaus München zu sehen waren. Esther Röhrborn war in der Rollenden Road Show der Volksbühne und später als „Wut-Expertin“ in „Love Pangs“ von Christoph Schlingensief zu sehen. 2009 wurde sie von Gesine Dankwart für deren Film „Um Dein Leben“ engagiert. Neben ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit entwickelt sie Sportangebote wie Ringen, Raufen und Boxen für Kinder und Erwachsene sowie choreografische Arbeiten. Sie war an verschiedenen Performance Projekten in Schulen beteiligt.

Giles Schumm: Ausbildung: BA(Hons) Creative Arts, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. Kunst Therapie und Ferienarbeit mit Jugendlichen mit Behinderungen in Newcastle & London. Music & Kunst Projekte mit Kindern & Jugendlichen in Berlin: „Auf der Mauer auf der Lauer“ mit sideviews; „Tintoretto“ & „Wir besetzen das Schloß!“ mit Jugendkunst- und Kulturhaus Schlesische27. Verschiedene Musik- und Kunstprojekte u.a. „Feedback Orchester“ Berlin. RSA TEFL Teaching Qualifikation. Drehbuch Übersetzungen für Film und Fernsehen für Bavaria Film, Constantin Film, u.a.. Musiker, Songtexter, Übersetzer.

Rene Wetzel kümmert sich bei sideviews um Digitalisierung und Onlinethemen und realisiert Webseiten und interaktive Formate wie zum Beispiel Schattenmuseum.de. Er hat dem Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum Workshops zu redaktionellem Arbeiten gehalten und berät das Gremium rund um Fragen der Onlinekommunikation. Als Senior Manager Strategic Business Development arbeitet er bei ubitricity an der Energiewende und der Dekarbonisierung der Mobilität. Als Gründer der Agentur MBD.berlin für die Musik- und Medienbranche hat er jahrelange Erfahrungen in Marketing und Digitalisierung. Außerdem ist er Musiker und schraubt an alten Autos. 

Weitere Kolleg*innen:

  • Ruth Noack/ Ausstellungsmacherin
  • Marcelo Rezende/ Ausstellungsmacher
  • Sebastian Grobler/ Filmregisseur und Professor
  • Daniel Harder/ Regisseur und Produzent
  • Tomma und Dr. Heino Luxa/ Apotheker*innen
  • Dr. Çiçek Baçik/ Künstlerin, Pädagogin und Forscherin
  • Wiebke Janzen/ Pädagogin
  • Moritz Scheffer/ Jugendgremium Schattenmuseum, Grafik
  • Sven Seeger/ Choreograph und Tänzer
  • weitere folgen…